Subsection 4.-New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable David Laurence MacLaren, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Nov. 1, 1945. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 89.

The Legislative Assembly has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years.

The Premier receives a salary of \$5,000 in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$5,000, the amount paid as indemnity to each Member of the House of Assembly is \$1,500, and the Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$2,000. An allowance of \$1,000, in addition to the regular indemnity, is made to the Speaker.

17.—Legislatures and Premiers of New Brunswick, 1935-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952

Legislatures, 1935-521

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 28, 1944	12th General Assembly	5 4	Mar. 5, 1936 Apr. 4, 1940 Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949	July 10, 1944

¹ The Ministries from 1935-52 were: 20th Ministry, sworn in July 16, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry, sworn in Mar. 13, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

Twenty-First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 28, 1948: 47 Liberals and 5 Progressive Conservatives.) Note.-See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of Executive Council Minister of Public Works Minister of Lands and Mines Minister of Agriculture Minister of Health and Social Services Minister of Education and Municipal Affairs Minister of Industry and Develop- ment Minister without portfolio (Chair- man of the New Brunswick Elec-	Hon. J. B. MCNAIR Hon. J. GASPARD BOUCHER Hon. W. S. ANDERSON Hon. R. C. TAYLOR Hon. F. A. McGRAND Hon. SAMUEL E. MODERS Hon. JAMES W. BRITTAIN Hon. J. A. DOUCET	July 16, 1938 May 16, 1946	Mar. 13, 1940 Aug. 10, 1949 July 16, 1938 May 16, 1946 July 16, 1935 Sept. 27, 1944 Sept. 27, 1944 Nov. 2, 1948 Sept. 27, 1944
	Hon. ISAIE MELANSON	Aug. 11, 1949	Aug. 11, 1949

Subsection 5.-Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of the Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council, and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable Gaspard Fauteux, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office Oct. 3, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 90.